Return to March 3, 2020 Election Updates and News

1 – Local Districts up for election in 2020

Final Certified election results for Santa Barbara County will be available by the Santa Barbara Elections Office on April 2, 2020.  Check Elections website for ongoing updates:

All 58 California counties will report election results to the state on April 3,  2020 for a final result of the March 3rd Primary election.  Check for ongoing updates:

Endorsed Democratic candidates on the North SB County March 3, 2020 Primary ballot:                                                                                                            

1   –  U. S. House of Representatives, 24th District

                (D) Salud Carbajal, Incumbent (D Endorsed)


2   – CA State Senate, 19th District,

                (D)  Monique Limon,  (D Endorsed)

                News Link:  (Monique Limon Announcement State Senate )    


               (NOTE: Incumbent (D) Hannah-Beth Jackson – Term limit – cannot run)

3   – CA State Assembly, 35th District

               (D) Dawn Addis, (Endorsed by DCSMV)

                News Link:  ( Dawn Addis Announces run for State Assembly) 


4   – Santa Barbara County Supervisors (2 out of 5 Supervisor seats in 2020):

              4a   Joan Hartmann, 3rd District,  Incumbent (D Endorsed)

                                  (3rd District is on the Guadalupe, Tanglewood, and Casmalia ballots)


              4b   Open seat,  Santa Barbara County Supervisor, 4th District,  Democrat not on the ballot.  

 PROPOSITION 13:  Endorsed YES.  Authorize bonds for  facility repair, construction, and modernization for public schools.

NOTE:  ALL  DEMOCRATIC  Presidential candidates will be listed on the DEMOCRATIC  ballots in the California March 3, 2020 Primary.  There will be no Democratic  Presidential endorsement until after all states have voted in their Primaries.  An official Democratic candidate will be nominated to run in the General Election on November 3, 2020 at the July 2020 Democratic Convention.

Complete SB County list on ballot of Democratic Presidential and all other candidates,  CLICK HERE


City Council seats are NOT ON THE BALLOT until November 3, 2020 General election.  DCSMV candidate endorsement selection for City Council will be in June 2020.

5   –  City Council of Santa Maria (* 2 out of 4 Council member seats, and 1 Mayor up for election in Nov.  2020): 

    5a    Residents living in District 1 (northwest Santa Maria) will elect 1 City Council member

      OSVALDO SOTELO  formally announced his candidacy for District 1 on January 13, 2020.  


    5b   Residents living in District 2 (northeast Santa Maria) will elect 1 City Council member       (To be announced)

   5c    All voters citywide (all 4 districts) will decide the Mayor’s position. (To be announced)

* SM City Council held currently with terms ending in 2020:   Mayor, Alice Patino,  Council members Michael Moats and  Mike Corder (None D Endorsed)

Find your Santa Maria City District:  CLICK HERE


Check your registration status:


View and contact all of our area’s current representatives:    CLICK HERE


Permanent link to this article:

Click here: Elect Dawn Addis

Dawn Addis,  Candidate for State Assembly,  District 35,  proudly Endorsed by the  DEMOCRATIC CLUB OF SANTA MARIA VALLEY,  met with constituents on Saturday,  February 8, 2020, at the Democratic Club Headquarters, 327 E. Plaza, #2, Santa Maria, 93454.   A casual, informal forum in which our community issues and Dawn’s plans for the future were …

Click here: Elect Monique Limon

Elect Monique Limon to the California State Senate in the 19th District, which includes all of Santa Barbara County and part of Ventura County.  A proven leader already in the areas she is running for office to represent as State Assemblymember where she has  served two terms.  Monique Limón is an experienced elected leader and …

Click here: Re-Elect Joan Hartmann

 Joan Hartmann is running for her second four year term as Santa Barbara County Supervisor, 3rd District, with an exemplary record of representation.  Representing the most contradictory and challenging of all five county districts, Hartmann has consistently impressed. At first blush, her soft-spoken style seems to diminish her influence on the dais. But anyone paying …

Click here: Re-Elect Salud Carbajal

An outstanding  Democratic representative in Congress,  Salud Carbajal, one of 53 federal lawmakers elected in California to serve in the U. S. House of Representatives,  represents all of Santa Barbara County, San Luis Obispo County, and part of Ventura County.  Congressman Carbajal was originally elected in 2016  and has served two consecutive terms and has …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »